Girls golf: Phoenixville sophomore Roberts in contention at district tournament

LIMERICK - Phoenixville sophomore Kate Roberts fired a one-under par 70 in the opening round of the District 1-Class 3A championship at Raven’s Claw GC, four shots off the sizzling pace set by Downingtown East senior Ava O’Sullivan, the 2020 champion.
Roberts, who fell short of qualifying for states in 2020 as a freshman after advancing to Day 2 of the event, is currently tied for third with Lower Merion's Sydney Yermish and Elle Lundquist of Central Bucks just behind O'Sullivan and second-place Mary Grace Dunigan of Unionville (69).
One week after earning the PAC individual girls title in a three-way battle with former champions Nicole Yun of Spring-Ford and Stefania Fedun of Owen J. Roberts at Gilbertsville GC, Roberts continued playing at a high level. She is one of just two PAC players advancing to the second round Tuesday at Turtle Creek GC, which also happens to be Roberts’ and Phoenixville’s home course.
Also reaching the second round was 2019 PAC champion Yun, who shot a 6-over 77. Perkiomen Valley sophomore Abigail McCorkell (79) and Spring-Ford sophomore Alie Adams (80) just fell below the cut line.
The top nine district finishers earn a berth in the PIAA championships.
District One -AAA Girls Golf Championships – First Round
At Raven’s Claw GC (par 71)
Top 15 advance to second round Tuesday at Turtle Creek GC
1 Ava O’Sullivan, Downingtown East, 66
2 Mary Grace Dunigan, Unionville, 69
T3 Sydney Yermish, Lower Merion, 70
T3 Kate Roberts, Phoenixville, 70
T3 Elle Lundquist, CB East, 70
T6 Victoria Kim, WC East, 71
T6 Hayley Ekert, North Penn, 71
8 Mia Pace, Downingtown East, 72
T9 Grace Smith, Strath Haven, 73
T9 Abby Lynn, CB West, 73
11 Caroline Gola, Mount St. Joseph, 74
T12 Talia Hoffner, Upper Dublin, 76
T12 Kaitlyn Ferrer, Unionville, 76
T14 Nicole Yun, Spring-Ford, 77
T14 Rhianna Gooneraine, 77
Missed cut
Abigail McCorkell, Perkiomen Valley, 79
Alie Adams, Spring-Ford, 80
Morgan Kunze, Spring-Ford, 83
Stefania Fedun, Owen J. Roberts, 83
Cierra Griffith, Spring-Ford, 87
Audrey Schuebel, Upper Merion, 89
Amala Villavalam, Upper Merion, 91
Sarah Lawrie, Methacton, 92
Chelsea Frampton, Phoenixville, 93
Alyssa Schuebel, Upper Merion, 93
Amanda Schuebel, Upper Merion, 98
Olivia Savochka, Owen J. Roberts, 112
Sofia Killar, Perkiomen Valley, 115