Ryan, Watson in the hunt at District 1 boys golf championship

LIMERICK – Eight Pioneer Athletic Conference golfers survived the opening-day cut at the District 1-AAA boys golf championship Monday at Turtle Creek GC, led by PAC individual champion Josh Ryan and Spring-Ford’s Luke Watson.

Ryan and Watson both shot 1-over-par 73s, five shots behind first-round leader Luca  Jezzeny of CB West. Jezzeny fired a 4-under 68 for a one-shot advantage over Holy Ghost Prep’s Liam Hart and Matt Fleming of Council Rock South– that duo coming in at 3-under 69 - heading into the final round Tuesday at Turtle Creek.

Other PAC golfers making the cut were Norristown’s Caleb Ryan and Spring-Ford’s Nate Pierce at 2-over 74 (15th place tie), Methacton’s Dylan Lasecki and Nick Martin along with Spring-Ford’s Axel Kalbach at 3-over 75 and Owen J. Roberts’ Ryan Glenn at 4-over 76.